alexcuesta

My tech blog

Groovy & Grails eXchange 2010

leave a comment »

I’ve just come from the Groovy & Grails eXchange 2010. I am not an expert on Groovy or Grails but I must admit that I have learned lots of things and I can’t wait to start using this technology on my next project.

My highlights of these two days of talks:

  • I really loved Tomas Lin‘s talk about Geb. This is just a web testing framework based on Spock using a groovy DSL based on the JQuery language. In other words, bye bye WebDriver’s findElementBy and welcome JQuery selectors. It uses the Page Object pattern so tests are organized better. This also comes as a Grails plugin.
  • I loved the talk by the guys from Sky.com who developed the whole site in Grails after comparing the productivity between two teams implementing the same features in two weeks. Groovy represents 95% of their code whereas 5% is Java. They test absolutely everything: unit testing and lots of functional testing to guarantee releases every week. They even test deployments!
  • Gradle is becoming the next building tool. I really like it. It seems to be easy to use because it is just a combination of Ant and Maven with the power of Groovy.
  • From Graeme Rocher‘s keynote:
    • DB reverse engineering to create domain classes from a database schema.
    • Database migration
    • New GORM implementations for nosql databases: mongodb, redis, gemfire…
    • A demo of Spring insight, a tc server profiling tool. Very cool but JavaMelody looks better and independent from tc Server.
  • From Laforge’s keynote I liked:
  • Plugins for almost everything!

Written by alexcuesta

December 17, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Posted in Groovy/Grails

Leave a Reply

